

LEAVENWORTH PRESERVATION COMMISSION MINUTES

COMMISSION CHAMBERS, CITY HALL

100 N 5th Street, Leavenworth, Kansas 66048 **WEDNESDAY, March 5, 2025, 6:00 PM**

CALL TO ORDER:

Board Members Present

Rik Jackson Ed Otto Ken Bateman Dick Gibson **Board Member(s) Absent**

Sherry Whitson

City Staff Present

Michelle Baragary Kim Portillo

Chairman Jackson called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. and noted a quorum was present.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES: January 3, 2024

Chairman Jackson asked for comments, changes or a motion on the January 3, 2024 minutes presented for approval. Commissioner Gibson moved to approve the minutes with one correction, seconded by Commissioner Otto, and approved by a vote of 4-0.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES: February 7, 2024

Chairman Jackson asked for comments, changes or a motion on the February 7, 2024 minutes presented for approval. Commissioner Otto moved to approve the minutes as presented, seconded by Commissioner Gibson, and approved by a vote of 4-0.

OLD BUSINESS:

None

NEW BUSINESS:

- 1. INTRODUCE NEW PLANNING & CD DIRECTOR AND CITY PLANNER
 - Kim Portillo is the new Planning & CD Director and Michelle Baragary is the new City Planner
- 2. ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Commissioner Bateman nominated Rik Jackson to continue as Chairman, seconded by Commissioner Otto, and approved 4-0.

Commissioner Gibson nominated Ed Otto to continue as Vice Chairman, seconded by Commissioner Bateman, and approved 4-0.

3. GENERAL DISCUSSION

City Planner Michelle Baragary stated May is National Historic Preservation Month. Staff will send an email to the commissioners in April with more information. Commissioners were asked to verify the contact information we have on file for them is accurate. Commissioner Bateman and Commissioner Whitson's terms will expire April 15, 2025, and if they would like to be reappointed. Commissioner Bateman responded in the affirmative. Commissioner Whitson is not present, so staff will send an email to her.

What to expect in the coming year: Ms. Baragary stated staff has been working with Gwen Perney (State Historic Preservation Officer) to get us back on track, and adhering to requirements as a CLG, Certified Local Government. SHPO has informed staff that our Preservation Commission shall meet at a minimum four times per year. Staff has determined that the LPC will meet at least once a quarter. Preservation planning staff and preservation board members shall attend training annually. This can be done through conferences, webinars, etc. Staff will also look into having the SHPO come to one of the board meetings for a training session.

Commissioner Jackson asked if part of the training with the SHPO could include the process of nominating a property for the National or State Historic Register.

Ms. Baragary stated that staff will for that request to the SHPO. If the Board has other topics or any other specific type of information they would like the SHPO to cover, that should be emailed to staff.

Lastly, staff asked the Board what their expectations and goals are for the year.

Commissioner Gibson stated that the Leavenworth School Board was looking at a facility that was on the historic registry, but they were not looking at historic tax credits that they were eligible for. Commissioner Gibson stated the LPC should be more educated in what is eligible for historic tax credits within Kansas, and being able to get that information out to businesses and facilities that are on the historic registry. Commissioner Gibson further stated Kristin Johnson is the contact for the historic tax credits.

Chairman Jackson also made the suggestion of possibly having the board members visit the Kansas Historical Society so they can see how the SHPO reviews applications.

OTHER BUSINESS/CORRESPONDENCE

1. MINOR STATE LAW REVIEW AND/OR MINOR CERTIFICATE OF APPROPRIATENESS

Ms. Baragary noted there are 14 minor state law reviews/certificate of appropriateness included in the agenda packet, which does not require action from the commission.

With no further discussion, Chairman Jackson called for a motion to adjourn. Commissioner Gibson moved to adjourn, seconded by Commissioner Bateman and passed 4-0.

Meeting adjourned at 6:15 p.m.

Minutes taken by City Planner Michelle Baragary.