

## CITY OF LEAVENWORTH 100 N. 5th Street Leavenworth, Kansas 66048

City Commission Special Meeting Commission Chambers Tuesday December 7, 2021 7:00 p.m.

**CALL TO ORDER** - The Governing Body met for a special meeting and the following commission members were present in the commission chambers: Mayor Nancy D. Bauder, Mayor Pro-Tem Camalla Leonhard, and Commissioner Jermaine Wilson.

Commissioners Elect Edd Hingula and Griff Martin were present for the meeting to be sworn in.

**Staff members present:** City Manager Paul Kramer, Assistant City Manager Penny Holler, Finance Director Ruby Maline, Deputy Finance Director Roberta Beier, Police Chief Patrick Kitchens, Parks and Recreation Director Steve Grant, Parks Superintendent Brian Bailey, Fire Chief Gary Birch, Deputy City Clerk Cary Collins and City Clerk Carla K. Williamson.

## Mayor Bauder asked for a motion to open a Special Meeting.

Commissioner Leonhard moved to open the special meeting. Commissioner Wilson seconded the motion and the motion was unanimously approved. Mayor Bauder declared the motion carried 3-0.

**2021 Elected Official Take Oath of Office** – City Clerk Carla Williamson introduced the item and background on the election of the Commissioners and stated that Jermaine Wilson and Griff Martin will serve (4) four-year terms expiring on December 2, 2025 and Edd Hingula will serve a (2) two-year term expiring on December 5, 2023. A copy of the election results certified by Janet Klasinski, County Election Officer was included in the policy report. City Clerk Carla Williamson gave the oath of office to the three elected members.

## Mayor Bauder asked for a motion to close the Special Meeting.

Commissioner Leonhard moved to close the special meeting. Commissioner Wilson seconded the motion and the motion was unanimously approved. Mayor Bauder declared the motion carried 5-0 and the commission moved to a Study Session.

Time Meeting Adjourned 7:08 p.m. Minutes taken by City Clerk Carla K. Williamson, CMC